If you liked The Magic Half, be sure to try…

Magic in the Mix, by Annie Barrows

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, by Liesl Shurtliff

The Tales of the Minnipins series, by Carol Kendall (first book The Gammage Cup)

The Anne of Green Gables series, by L.M. Montgomery (first book Anne of Green Gables)

The Penderwicks series, by Jeanne Birdsall (first book The Penderwicks)

The Melendy Quartet series, by Elizabeth Enright (first book The Saturdays)

Castaways in Lilliput, by Henry Winterfield

Half Magic, by Edward Eager

Knights’ Castle, by Edward Eager

Wet Magic, by E. Nesbit

Five Children and It, by E. Nesbit

The Voyage of Patience Goodspeed, by Heather V. Frederick

The Chronicles of Narnia series, by C.S. Lewis (first book The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe)

Rinkitink in Oz, by L. Frank Baum

Ben and the Sudden Too-Big! Family, by Colby Rodousky

The Invention of Hugo Cabret, by Brian Selznick

The Fairy Realm series, by Emily Rodda (first book The Charm Bracelet)

11 Birthdays, by Wendy Mass

A Murder for Her Majesty, by Beth Hilgartner

The Enchanted Forest Chronicles, by Patricia C. Wrede (first book Dealing with Dragons)

The Book of Story Beginnings, by Kristin Kladstrup

The Wide-Awake Princess, by E.D. Baker

The Castle in the Attic, by Elizabeth Winthrop

The Great Good Thing, by Roderick Townley

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan

Igraine the Brave, by Cornelia Funke

The Magic Shop series, by Bruce Coville (first book The Monster’s Ring)

The Fairy’s Return and Other Princess Tales, by Gail Carson Levine

Once Upon a Toad, by Heather V. Frederick

The Bliss Bakery Trilogy, by Kathryn Littlewood (first book Bliss)

Beswitched, by Kate Saunders

Tuesdays at the Castle, by Jessica Day George

The Fish in Room 11, by Heather Dyer

The Thirteenth Princess, by Diane Zahler

Horten’s Miraculous Mechanisms, by Lissa Evans

Never Mind!, by Avi and Rachel Vail

Island of the Aunts, by Eva Ibbotson

The Left-Behinds: The iPhone that Saved George Washington, by David Potter

A Pocket Full of Murder, by R.J. Anderson

The Twin in the Tavern, by B.B. Wallace
Whew! I kept getting distracted from making this list because I realized I wanted to reread a bunch of these and had to request them from the library! Comment and let me know if you’d like to know more about any of these books or if there’s a book you think I left out!

1 thought on “If you liked The Magic Half, be sure to try…”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s